Congratulations, it’s a blog!

Now.. I know what you’re thinking.

“Oh, another paleo blog. I bet it’s going to be about her life and what she eats and why she eats what she does and recipe reviews and yaddayaddayadda.”

Well, you are so wrong.

Just kidding. You’re right.

You’d be surprised how many things I have to say about food. I mean, food is literally my drug. I can’t go for days without eating (seriously though). But, here’s the thing: I have become so much more aware of what I put in my body as I have gotten older.

Have you seen the video of Jennifer Lawrence asking, “where’s the pizza?!” This is me. All the time. Only it’s more like “WHERE’S THE FOOD?!?!” My mom has a joke that the Whetzels grovel in front of food. You can always find us around the food table, if there is one.

Aaaand, queue story time.

It was winter of 2012. My boyfriend and I had been dating for about six months, and we became what people would call “foodies.” We spent probably hundreds of dollars a month just trying different restaurants. I began to notice a serious decline in my health, though. I was sick a lot; I didn’t want to go out. I was pretty miserable. I was losing my hair. Tons of it. I was tired all the time. So tired. So much tiredness I could sleep for a billion hours and still be tired.

“A 23-year-old shouldn’t be living like this way. This isn’t life, man,” I would say to myself.

So I decided to make a change, and it was a drastic one at that. I didn’t want to “diet.” The word diet has such a bad connotation, and I was desperate to stay away from it. I just wanted a way of living that would make me feel good.

Enter paleo.

I first found out about paleo from a blog called Against All Grain. Her story fascinated me. Danielle’s story certainly doesn’t match mine, but it really did get the gears turning in my head of how I could fix the other issues I had (I’ll spare you details of those, though, you lucky duck). And so I did it. I gave up eating grains.

GASP, you say, “how can you do that?!?! There’s the delicious bread and such!”

Yes. It is indeed very hard being grain-free. It is even harder being soy-free, dairy-free, and legume-free. It’s even more difficult when you have such a distinctive palate such as mine. Am I all of these things all of the time? No. I deviate. Bodies are not a “one size fits all,” and neither are the way each individual lives.

So, what will be on my blog? It’s titled “Gourmet B.C.,” a clever pun on the “before common era” time period if I do say so myself. I particularly want to focus on food, as an almost “food diary” for myself, to find out what makes my body happy and unhappy. But, I’ll probably mix some exercise and general “paleo life choices” in with this. Most importantly, I want it to be fun. It’s no fun going through life with health issues. And, even if you don’t have any, I think it’s always fun to talk about food in general.

After all, it’s my blog!

2 thoughts on “Congratulations, it’s a blog!

  1. Pingback: What’s a Manganese? | Gourmet B.C.

Do you know where the food is!?